Every day something at work amazes me. I use the term ‘work’ lightly as it’s not WORK work – it’s more ‘play work’. I love my job and the work I do – I work with kids!

Working with kids is rewarding, challenging, funny, heartbreaking at times – there is never a dull moment. There is no such thing as a plan – except to go to school every day ready to influence a life.

I love working with their teachers and teacher aides even more. I’m blessed with the best team on the planet and together we make a difference in the lives of kids every day. It’s what gets us up in the morning, it’s what provides the energy to keep going against all odds and it’s what keeps us together as a great team.

Herding cats?? It’s exactly like trying to herd cats – 600 kids and their teachers all learning and laughing together. So I don’t try – my job is to nurture all the conditions required to help them all experiment, innovate and be happy. Herding consists of tweaking the culture, doing up a shoe lace in the Pick Up Zone, organising some training, drying a 6 year olds tears when he can’t find his Mum, finding the money for the latest in learning technology, teaching the PE teacher how to use his MacBook, recruiting staff for next year, and planning for a future that’s 20-50 years from now – a future my own daughter will live in.